Board members

We are governed by a Board of Directors. All positions are voluntary, whereby all members freely donate their time and professional expertise.


Mal Hyde AO APM CStJ

Mal Hyde recently retired as the Commissioner of Police in South Australia, a position held since 1997. His past professional memberships have included Member of the Australian Crime Commission, Member of the Australian and New Zealand Advisory Agency and Member of CrimTrac.

Currently he is the Presiding Member of the ANZAC Day Commemoration Council, a member of the UniSA Business School Advisory Board and a member of other boards, including the Bedford group.

He has been awarded the Officer of the Order of Australia, the Australian Police Medal, the St John Service Medal, the National Medal, the Victorian and South Australian Police Service Medals, and the SA Police Leadership and Efficiency Medal. Mal is also an Officer of the Order of St John.


Karen Limb

Karen Limb has extensive career experience covering all aspects of financial management and is currently the Chief Financial Officer - Australia and New Zealand for Mott MacDonald. 
Previous to this she was the Chief Operating Officer at Kelly & Co Lawyers. Karen held various roles when she resided in the UK with Anheuser Busch (Budweiser), Safeway UK and ExCel UK.
A member of CPA Australia (Fellow) and the Australian Institute of Company Directors, Karen has previous Board experience with Young Adelaide Voices, and holds a Bachelor of Business and a Masters of Business Administration (MBA).


Darren Chandler
Co-opted Member

Darren Chandler is the General Manager Operations and Commercial at Adelaide Oval Stadium Management Authority (AOSMA), responsible for commercial partnerships, corporate sales, membership, marketing, communications, tourism, major events, grounds management and operations at Adelaide Oval.

Previous roles include working with the SANFL as General Manager of Football and Corporate Operations from 2009-2012 and CEO of the Glenelg Football Club 2002-2008.

His qualifications include a MBA with the University of South Australia and a Degree in Exercise Sports Science.


Noel Hender BEM CStJ

As an educational consultant, former teacher and educational administrator, Noel has enjoyed a career working in state education and the wider education arena, including 10 years as a secondary school principal. Experience spans educational leadership, strategy implementation, change management, project and resource management, program analysis, evaluation and review.

Noel holds a Bachelor of Arts, Diploma of Teaching, Graduate Diploma in Educational Administration, Diploma of Business (Frontline Management), Certificate 4 in Training and Education, and has undertaken Australian Career Development Studies.

Noel is a longstanding St John SA volunteer with vast experience across leadership, development and training, and is a Commander of the Order of St John. Noel has also been awarded the British Empire Medal (BEM) for Gallantry (Civil Division).


Prof. Paul Arbon AM KStJ
Elected Member

Professor Arbon is a Matthew Flinders Distinguished Professor, Director of the Torrens Resilience Institute, and Dean of the School of Nursing and Midwifery of Flinders University.

Professor Arbon works across the fields of disaster resilience, mass gathering management and health security. He is Director of the City Security and Resilience Networks for Australia and Asia, Head of the World Health Organisation Collaborating Centre for Mass Gatherings and High Consequence/High Visibility Events, Past President of the World Association for Disaster and Emergency Medicine and Member of the United Nation’s International Health Regulations Roster of Experts. He is a Fellow of the Australian College of Nursing and the American Academy of Nursing.


Lachlan CibichLachlan Cibich MStJ
Elected Member

Lachlan Cibich has professional experience in the Legal, Community Services and Government Sectors and holds a Bachelor of Law from the University of Adelaide.


Lachlan is currently the Principal Advisor to the Deputy Chief Executive of the Department for Communities and Social Inclusion. Lachlan has previously held Senior Policy positions in the Department of the Premier and Cabinet.


Lachlan has been an active member of the South Australian community through his volunteer work with St John Ambulance Australia. Throughout his sixteen years of service, he has been an advocate for young people, focusing on building their capacity to influence decision-making. Lachlan has held positions including Chair of the SA Youth Council of St John, National Project Lead (Training and Leadership Development) on the Australian Youth Council of St John and State Staff Officer – Youth Engagement and Development. Lachlan was appointed as the St John National Harper Research Scholar for 2013/14. Lachlan is a strong supporter of the Community Care program, including having held the position of Program Coordinator. For his services to the community, Lachlan was named the Australia Day Young Citizen of the Year (Port Lincoln) in 2007. In 2013, Lachlan was admitted as a Member of the International Order of St John.


Gloria Curtis CStJ
Elected Member

With professional experience across customer service and personal care, 20 years as both a paid and volunteer first aid trainer with St John SA, Gloria Curtis carries extensive sector understanding as well as direct hands-on involvement in the care and volunteering arena. This includes 15 years as a Paramedical Aide with Domiciliary Care, working with the elderly and young disabled.
A longstanding volunteer, Gloria joined St John SA in 1981 and has over three decades of efficient service. Many of these years have been spent with the Cadet section, including six years as State Officer. Service to Cadets was formally recognised with an Order of Australia award in 2007, followed by Commander of the Order of St John in 2008.
Gloria remains a passionate educator and holds the qualifications Certificate of Education, Certificate IV in Assessment & Workplace Training and Certificate IV in Business (Frontline Management), additionally a Government of SA Community Mentoring Orientation Workshop participant.
Currently Gloria serves as a non-operational member working on various state based projects and additionally volunteers with the St John SA Community Care program, providing individualised social support.