St John Annual Awards Day 2015 Honours Local Heroes

St John Annual Awards Day 2015 Honours Local Heroes

23 October 2015

Giving back to the community has been a commitment spanning more than 62 years for just one of the 100 individuals to be recognised at St John Ambulance South Australia’s annual Awards Day on Saturday, October 24.


The Awards Day, held at Government House, is a special occasion to acknowledge and celebrate the generous contribution to the South Australian community by the many individuals who work tirelessly and volunteer their time for the not-for-profit organisation.


His Excellency the Honourable Hieu Van Le AO, Governor of South Australia, will present the prestigious awards, which will include:
• A 62 year service award to Clifford Wright OAM
• Three 47 years of service awards to Alan Bennett, Carey Evans and Lynette Pole
• The Cadet of the Year Award to 17 year old Hrishikesh Rajaram
• The Youth Leader of the Year Award to 20 year old Danika Pederzolli
• Full list of award recipients attached


Clifford Wright OAM will be recognised for his considerable years of service to St John Ambulance SA (STJSA). Remaining an active volunteer to this day, Cliff started with the organisation as a 16-year-old in 1952 and was part of the original Adelaide Motorcycle Division.
Additional awards being presented on the day will be the Robert Britten-Jones award for excellence in training to Lisa Seyfang and Chris Whales. Community Care services are represented with the 1st Bar recognising 17 years of service to Judith Bowden and the prestigious Service Medal of the Order of St John for 12 years of service to Diana Caddy and Margaret McNamara.


Grand Prior’s Badges will be awarded to Kevin Clark, Sam Maddock and Kira Stapleton. These awards are the greatest achievement that can be attained by youth members in St John.


St John also recognises members of the general public who have used their first aid skills to save the life of another person. This year, seven people from the community will receive a “St John Save a Life” award to recognise their inspirational and courageous acts of kindness. 


St John SA is the state’s leading provider of first aid services and training, employing 78 staff and with a dedicated network of almost 2000 volunteers operating from 70 locations across South Australia. Its members and personnel provide services to the South Australian community in many ways with a range of award recipients from all areas of the organisation, including daily operational management, first aid trainers, community care volunteers and cadets.


St John Ambulance SA CEO Ray Creen says he is proud to see the great work St John personnel carry out on a day-to-day basis for the community:


“Most of the members recognised at the Awards Day have dedicated significant time and service to providing care to the South Australian community,” he said.


“It is deserving that we recognise this commitment through a memorable ceremony that celebrates achievements. Be it through first aid care at events, community care or providing the public with the necessary first aid skills in case of an emergency South Australia is undoubtedly a safer and more resilient community thanks to their efforts.”


St John has been recognising the great work of members since 1885 when the first St John Awards Day was held.